Monday, January 31, 2011

Weekend

So the warmer weather lasted through sunday. It was amazing. Brennen spent the night with the in laws saturday night, so d took him over that morning while he was on that side of town. That meant a whole day without him, what did I do you ask???? NOTHING.. Not a dang thing and it was wonderful. However I missed him dearly and wanted nothing more then to dive to their house and get him, but I didn't. He loves being over there. They said he stayed outside all day saturday and well he pretty much did they same on sunday. His clothes were a mess and he stunk to high heavens but I don't care, he loved it. He also has a new love.. Let me introduce you to the vwbug...Brylee got this for christmas from santa, but it stays at the in laws since thats pretty much where she will end up using it. there is also a john deere for brennen but he doesn't like it yet.
He loves driving this thing aroundand I find it so funny to see him driving a little girly car and loving it so. Hope everyone had a great weekend like we did..

Saturday, January 29, 2011

time to play

Finally we have been able to go outside without big big jackets on. I LOVE winter but I am not feeling this super cold weather we have been getting and it is very unusual for our southern state.. So what did we do when we went outside... SIDE WALK CHALK, of course. We didn't stay out very long since he wanted a snack but it was nice while it lasted..

silent sunday




Friday, January 28, 2011

Dress up time..

So I decided to go through my old prom dresses so I can get them ready to place at a consignment shop. Now of course every dress I pull out takes me back to that night and of course d doesn't remember which prom or what year I wore it. We went to different schools so we had a total of four proms together and four homecomings, since we never went to his, so I have a lot of dresses. Well I decided just looking wasn't just enough for me I wanted to try on the dresses. Well my sr prom dresses of course fit and were big in some places. But i was SUPER excited that my jr prom dress almost fit. My "chest" has grown a little since then so that was the only part that didn't fit. Well once I got done with all the prom dresses and the few homecoming dresses that I had. I wanted to go bigger. I tried on my wedding dress. It has been four years since I wore that dress and I forgot how beautiful it was and how long the train was or how heavy it is. I was shocked when I found out that it is actually too big. I mean I could get away with wearing it but I could really use a size or two smaller. This caused me to do a super jumpy happy dance. I walked around in it for a few mins and had fun for a little bit with all my awesome dresses. Now that the dress up time is over it is time to take the dresses MINUS my wedding dress to the shop to see if they will make another girl just as happy as they made me oh so many years ago. I should have taken pictures because I know I had to have looked funny but I didn't have my camera, oh well... I guess in away this was my flash back friday just with no pictures...

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

If you give a kid a hat

This kid LOVES to dress up. Hats are his thing to play with. He really has more play hats then any other kid I know of. However he also likes for us to play shopping with his kitchen. Stuffing bag and bags full of fake food.. What could be a better afternoon.Yesterday we went to play disc golf with d, if you don't know what that is then I will let you know. Disc golf is kinda like normal golf but you have these frisbee things and you are throwing them at a basket a couple yards away. Anyways we went to play with him, well brennen wouldn't leave his dress up at home so this is what he looked like.He had so much fun, only got a little cranky towards the end, there is a lot of walking involved. But he had fun and that is all that matters.
After that we went to the thrift store, I freaking love this place. I pretty much only buy toys but thats where I am going to get play clothes and jeans for him. Super cheep things there and it works great if your on a budget. Well brennen found these dora and diego hard plastic backpack looking things, well I HATE those cartoons but he enjoys them and they were only 97 cents each. He loves them and they are a great addition to our dress up bin. Sorry no pictures of these, or at least not yet.. Well that pretty much sums up our friday :) Happy weekend everyone..

Let it begin

So I hate talking about money on here, it stinks. I know everyone goes through their money highs and lows throughout the year but dang this month has just sucked. I have been wanting to get us on a budget for some time now and the hubby is not a fan of this idea. He says he makes the money and he shouldn't have to look at a piece of paper to see how to spend it and I agree. However after looking at what we have spent on eating out in the last three weeks I believe we have come to an agreement on the whole budget thing. So this morning I got on the internet and started googling. I found the Dave Ramsey spread sheets and info, which is great since I know people who use it and love it. So I have it mostly filled out and It isn't looking too bad but I am seeing a lot of things that we can get rid of and save some money. So I am kinda excited about this. I would love to be able to put a ton of money away while he is gone on deployment and show him I can do it, not like he doubts me or anything but really save. I am also about to go coupon crazy. Ready to only buy when we have a coupon. So thats all for right now. Just glad this are turning around.

Happy wednesday :)

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

needs a change

I hate to admit this but we are really bad with money. I try to save but the hubby isn't the best at this. He loves to buy disc for a new sport he is in to. But they cost a lot and he is ALWAYS buying more and more. In the past 3 weeks we have spent almost 200$ on eating out. That is just crazy to me. His job has him traveling all over the state and so he has to eat at least lunch out every day. So the 10 to 20$ here and there have really added up. So i suggested lets do a budget plan. He FLIPPED out.. I get he works and makes the money but shoot that doesn't mean you can spend it how ever you want when we have bills due and no money to pay them. I want to get a job to help out with the money but then we have to pay a daycare and that always takes almost all m money I would make. So I am looking for budgeting ideas right now so if anyone has any please let me know. I believe it will help us in the long run if we start this now. I have been doing coupons and all for a few months but i haven't seen a huge difference in things now...


Lets hope something changes soon.. Heres to a fresh start...

Friday, January 21, 2011

sad day

So today my last great grand parent has past away. We knew this was coming. She has been in a nursing home since september since she was unable to care for herself anymore and had the beginnings of alzheimer's. It is very sad to see someone so dear to us go down hill like this. She was the glue to our very large family and will be missed dearly. We have known she was going to pass for some time now and everyone has had the chance to say goodbye. I on the other hand choose not to go and see her. From what I was told she looked awful, didn't even know her own children and pretended a baby doll was a actual human. I knew seeing her in this state would be too much for me and I want to remember a good memory of her not those. I know I will have to live with this choice but I have been on both sides of this before and I know this is the right one for me. Now I am in the process of packing. trying to decide when to leave to go to a different state to be with my family... Please pray for her children more then anyone else. They have now lost both parents and they were and still are some of the most amazing great grand parents ever.


We Love you granny..

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Let the planning start :)

I know this is a little early to start thinking about brennen's third birthday party since it is in august. But I LOVE planning them and I like to get a head start on things.. So right now I have it narrowed down to a few choices..

Dino party

Toy story party

Bug party

Little people party

He is sooo into all of this and I have so much already that I could use for decorations and they will be easy to find and create.
I was to have some pool and outside play at like a park of something this year. I tried to do it his first birthday and it was rained out but I hope everything will work for his third... Im excited. Lets just hope all friends and family will be able to make it this year...

Heck I have a little under 7 months to get this thing together...

Friday, January 14, 2011

flash back friday. 2007

Our mini trip to Monterey california to see my brother in law graduate from ait..

*at an aquarium in monterey*


*me and the hubby*


*standing in a red wood tree at meir woods*


*at the golden gate bridge*


*me in monterey*

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

wordless wednesday...






Pictures from our first family photo shoot.. As soon as I can find my camera I will upload newer pictures...

Sunday, January 9, 2011

Friday, January 7, 2011

i did it...

I finally decided it was time to put my running shoes back on and hit the pavement.. I have not run since November. I kept saying it is too cold, I don't feel like it or I don't wanna wake the baby up. Well I stopped making excuses and just did it. Even with my favorite show on I did it. I am so proud of myself. I only did about a mile but hey its a start. In october I was running up to 3 miles a day and that is a lot for me since I HATE running. I have learned to enjoy it and it haas actually become relaxing to me. Some good "me" time even if i'm pushing the toddler. Just put my head phones on and go...

While I was running it got me thinking about everything. I need to live in the moment kinda and be happy with whats going on more. Yes life does suck sometimes, bills pile up, laundry doesn't get done and the house looks like a mess but if Im spending time with family it doesn't matter. So that my new motto.. Live in the moment... I am turning over a new leaf today, I want to eat better, exercise more, dress up more and spend more time crafting. I know I said all this with my new years resolutions but I say things for the most part and never fully do them.

With all that being said I am off to spend time with my little man to do something crafty while daddy is away on a over night (whole weekend) drill. Hope everyone has a great weekend....

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Flash back friday

Feeling a little old school today.
So here you go. Pictures from my jr prom.
D and I were about 17 in these pictures...


*We were so young*





*Opening my door like a little gentlemen*


Thanks for taking a trip down memory lane with me. Time for me to go on my first run of the new year. Happy friday.

Monday, January 3, 2011

feeling magical

Incase you don't know I am talking about disney... I am the kinda person that disney is still so magical and is so exciting still after 23 years, i get giddy. If that makes me a dork then so be it. It is so different when you have a kid. Like seeing Brennen's face light up watching the the parade at the magic kingdom. It was amazing. The look on this face, just the pure joy brings tears to my eyes. knowing I made his so happy for about 30 mins like that was all you can ask for as a parent. We took a short video and then it hit me. Heather just enjoy this, when will you get this moment back. So I did. For once I put the camera down and watched him, enjoyed the moment for just us 3 at that moment, it was AMAZING. (FYI the video is loud and please don't mind me. Like I said I get giddy and dorky when it comes to disney.. Sorry :) ...)



So why you ask am I talking about a trip we took in july???? Well for martin luther king weekend my sister is dancing at the uda competition and we have the chance to go and spend one day at a park and then watch her dance, but the problem is that it cost a lot and to get the money together so fast. So i am so torn. I want to take him again and again and again... The only thing holding me back is the fact that thanksgiving this year is in orlando and we can go then. So we would be able to save, but I want to go now... I just need to sit down and look at the bills and see.. At least he doesn't know that there is an option of going... So he doesn't get upset and all..


I mean how do you say no to thinks like this.



His reaction to a parade at animal kingdom..


Enjoying a toy story ride at mgm...



Moments like these made this trip worth wild..

family time...

So we got to hang out with some pretty awesome people this past month. We love our family so much, they always are there for us. We could never thank them enough for things they do for us. So as you can tell we were super excited to see them, since some we don't get to see that often. So here they are... Some pretty amazing people..


Me and my sister-in-laws..



Brennen and Brylee watching mickey dance..



Gigi and Brennen on christmas eve..



Me and my precious Brylee..



Dancing with mickey..



My little man rocking his santa hat..


Brennen and his beloved ae.. my sister..


Hope everyone had a great time spending with their families.
So yes I know it is 1/3/11 and I am just now post all the christmas pictures. But we have been super busy with family being in town and then going out of town oh and then the AWESOME(note the sarcasm) sickness that has hit us this month. So I am just now able to sit down and actually post something. So here it is: christmas,Christmas eve pictures and christmas cookie making....

Cookie making:




Opening gifts at nonna and grandpas house:





Christmas eve:





Christmas day:







Now if I can just get the whole "family" post im working on done it will be a miracle. Until next time... <3