Monday, August 30, 2010

new love...

Oh how I have some news loves going on right now...
I have added coffee every morning to my daily life and I am loving it..
I have always drank coffee when we go out of town and stay at hotels since they always make it.
So I figured why not, we own a coffee maker.. So me, d and brennen went to the store..
I got this really cute(to me) mug on sale at tjmaxx... And I love it....


My next love it a very new one...
Back story: I have been shopping for winter things for the little man and well I was looking at hats. and they are like 20$ and i'm just not doing that unless it is something I really love.. So I figured why not make some.. I knitted a few times when I was younger..(my grandma showed me how) but now I am obsessed with knitting..lol.. sounds lame but it's really fun and relaxing..


Now this one isn't a new love it is a recurring love of mine... The love of making things.. Either painting, drawing or sewing.. It doesn't matter I JUST LOVE IT....


So now since it is becoming fall it is time to start making holiday clothes for my little guy... none of these are for him although i have made him the elephant one in his size.. the rest of his are in the making.


The candy cane heart is for my sweet niece (this is just one of two) and the little outfit and pink and white hat is a shower gift for one for my friends..

Right now we are getting ready to go to the beach on thursday( thats where the hubby is working for the week) and I plan to really do nothing. were going to the in-laws house (who live there) so we go to the beach a good bit to see them.. So I am going to stay in do some homework and have some swim time w my little man while the hubby is away at work... But now off to pack and spend this nice rainy day watching movies with bren...

<3

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

mommy and her wild man

So here are the pictures of just brennen and I from the boot shoot that didn't have militaryish things in them....



I heart him oh so much...




He seemed to like doing these more then the others. Wish d could have been there so we could have some family and daddy and little man pictures but maybe next time...



happy tuesday :)

Sunday, August 22, 2010

boot shoot..


So I did a boot shoot on saturday with brennen and my mother in law took the pictures. I had seen a few of these and loved them and decided I was going to do it...




I felt bad for brennen since it was so hot and we did this at 9:30 am and it was like 90 degrees and very humid. He didn't mind the heat but didn't want to wear any camo at all.. But we got a few.






I want to take a nother one before d leaves and we will have to do some family ones too since we haven't done any since brennen was born.





I have a few more that are just me and brennen (non boot shoot) and I will post them later on this week.. Now it is time to do a little homework since the baby is asleep..Happy weekend everyone...

Thursday, August 19, 2010

2 years ago I became a mommy....

(this is ment for the 19th but i wont have internet and plus i will be with the birthday boy so here it is a day early.)

So If you can't tell from the title today brennen turns 2... Wow I cant believe it is here... Seems like yesterday I had a sweet little baby that slept all the time and was pretty quite. Now he is a wild and crazy toddler....

Lets see recap of the day...

We arrived at the hospital at around 10 am to get ready to have a c section. I wasn't really nervous but more excited to get everything started. We checked in at the desk and got put into a room that I had to share. Thankfully We were only in there to get ready to have him. Everyone started taking their guesses on how big he was going to be while we waited until it was time to go. At 12 p.m. I was taken back to the OR, D came a little bit later. By 12:15 we hear the sweetest little cry. (Let's just say that having a c section was like the best thing ever. I felt nothing and recovered great.)
D got to hold him and the nurse showed him to me. She was so sweet taking a picture of all 3 of us. I didn't expect it or think to ask. They take him away from us to get weighed and cleaned up.


Then we here a nurse go oh my. D looks up and kinda looks worried. My dr. says no wonder you were having so may problems. He weighs 9 lbs and 10 oz. She told me that even if I hadn't had picked to have the c section that i would have had one. He was just too big.

By this time they have sent D and brennen to a room to finish getting looked at. I was wheeled in after a few where they hand him to me. This is when it kinda gets a little fuzzy. The nurse tells me that he isn't breathing normally and that he is being taken to the nicu. I am balling by this time not knowing what is going on or what's is wrong with him. She takes him away in a matter of a min or 2, places him in the incubator and leaves with the hubby following. At that second the family comes running in and I just want to scream and yell. I really didn't want to see anyone but brennen or my husband.

D and the nurse comes back after a little and tells me what is wrong with him. Tell me that he has tachypnea. Which means he is breathing faster then normal. Normal is about 60 beats per min and he was doing about 125 beats per min. He was going to have to stay there until it was 60 beats per min for 12 hours. This is very common in c section babies and if they are really big. The fluid wasn't pushed out of his lungs since I never pushed. Most babies only have to stay a few hours or a day. He stayed 5 days.

This was very hard for us to see him hooked up to all the wires. D was number one daddy in the nicu. They said how he never left unless it was the times that the unit was closed due to the dr. making their rounds. I had to wait 12 hours after having him to go and see him. Where we both finally got to hold him and kiss him.


While he was in there we were the only ones who could hold him and no one else could even touch him. I set an alarm every night to wake up every 3 hours to pump and freeze my milk since he still wasn't eating anything yet. Once he was d would take him what i had pumped. By the time he was 2 days old I was getting enough for about 3 to 4 oz of milk at each pumping/feeding time. they all seemed really impressed and didn't have to say much when I met with the lactation nurse. Which was nice since it was weird being out of the loop of not having him be with us. things were very different.

He never declined while in the nicu. Some days were better then others. he always looked so funny being in that little bed under to heat lamp next to 1 oz babies.(which were so sad, one was so early her skin was still seethrough) His head and feet almost touched the top and bottom of the little plastic bed. The nurses always said how good he was and how he never cried. they could prick him over and over in his sleep and he wouldn't cry. I believe he was awake a total or 3 or 4 times when i came to visit him in there. the rest of the time he was asleep.


Time line.....
had him tuesday 19th
would have been released by thursday the 21st
asked to stay extra night in my room because it was looking good on him getting to go home. friday 22nd
stayed in the "family rooms" in the nicu saturday 23rd
got released on sunday the 24th.


By friday he was placed in a little bed (like you have in your room when you have the baby) by the window of the nicu. He was ready to come off everything but heart monitor. they said if he did well at that he could stay with us in the family room.

We were so happy when they said he could leave the nicu pod and stay with us Saturday night. They told us that we had to only pick him up when we fed, changed or bathed him, but they wouldn't come running to check on us. we didn't care. we held him a ton.


We were getting ready to be discharged on Sunday morning. His blood pressure was up a little so they kept making us wait til it went down before we could leave. That was like 9 am and we didn't get to leave until 12 pm. It was so nice to come home and just sit and hold him without being told to when to put him down.

We will never forget the nurses and doctors that helped get our little boy ready to come home.
A huge thank you to all of them....

Monday, August 9, 2010

party filled weekend...

So this weekend was Brennen's 2nd birthday party. even though he doesn't turn 2 until the 19th, we wanted b and lydia there so we moved it up. We had a great day even if he really didn't want to open gifts and Brylee had to step in to help out.. So I am just gonna post pictures and let you see for yourself.










Brylee's party was the very next day. I will post some from her party as soon as I can find the time...
Happy Moday everyone..